Our team at the Whitley County Economic Development Corporation (EDC) is dedicated to helping you achieve big things. Learn more about our team by clicking on their name to read their full biography.


Project Coordinator
Book Keeper
Marketing Director


Community Development Consultant
Small Business & Entrepreneurship Initiative Consultant

Board Members

The Whitley County EDC Development Board is made up of members who represent industries and pillars of the communities. 

  • Lisa Smith, Chair
    Ivy Tech Community College | City of Columbia City Representative
  • Tim Kumfer, Vice Chair
    Whitley County Representative
  • Trey Weber, Treasurer
    Crossroads Bank | Town of South Whitley Representative
  • Laura McDermitt, Secretary
    Superintendent, Whitley County Consolidated Schools | School District Representative


  • Eric Jung, Voting Member
    Northeastern REMC | Utilities Representative
  • John Halverson, Voting Member
    C&A Tool | Town of Churubusco Representative
  • Gabe Starkey, Voting Member
    Fox Products | Town of South Whitley Representative


  • Dale Buuck, Ex-officio Member
    President | Whitley County EDC
  • Matt Shipman, Ex-officio Member
    Bloom, Gates, Shipman & Whiteleather | Attorney Representative